Try our app to get more, it's free!

Apple iOS - iPhone / iPad Android

List of countries in the world


What are the  countries in the world ? How many countries do we have in this world ? These are a very frequent questions that comes up in geographical discussions or for people wanting to travel around the world, go on a round-the-world trip. The answers given are often different, showing that not many are sure how many countries are there in this world. This is not mainly our fault, as different sources will often give different answers. If asked how many countries there are in the world ? the best answer to give would be 196.

The most common number thrown around is 193. 193 is the number of nations that are members of the United Nations. Although it represents a large majority of the countries in the world, it does not take into consideration independent states such as Kosovo and the Vatican City. These two are not members of the United Nations, and are commonly left out in the whole ‘nations of the world’ discussion.

Before we get into the complete list of the countries in the world, let’s clear the air about another issue. Now, the US Department of State recognizes 195 nations, but this is because it chooses to leave out one nation based on political reasons. That lone outsider is Taiwan. Even though Taiwan has met the necessary requirements to be considered an independent nation, many in the international community choose not to recognize it as so. Being part of China doesn’t help, as the larger nation constantly refers to Taiwan as one of its provinces.

So we are in agreement, 196 countries in all. However, there are territories that are often times referred to as countries while in actual fact they aren’t – simply because they are governed by other countries. Such commonly confused ‘countries’ include Bermuda, Puerto Rico, Greenland, Palestine, and parts of the United Kingdom (Wales, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and England).

The complete list of countries of the world

The following are the 196 countries that make up the world. They are listed in alphabetical order, and include the newest nation, South Sudan (gained independence from Sudan on July 9, 2011).


·        Afghanistan

·        Albania

·        Algeria

·        Andorra

·        Angola

·        Antigua and Barbuda

·        Argentina

·        Armenia

·        Australia

·        Austria

·        Azerbaijan


Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma/Myanmar, Burundi.


Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad,  Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic.


Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic


East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia


Fiji, Finland, France


Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana


Haiti, Honduras, Hungary


Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy


Jamaica, Japan, Jordan


Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (North), Korea (South), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan


Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg


Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique


Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway




Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal




Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda


Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria


Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu


Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan


Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam




Zambia, Zimbabwe

Regarding Greenland: It voted to exercise self-rule in2 2008 and was granted complete responsibility for its internal affairs in June 2009. However, Denmark continues to administer foreign affairs on its behalf, as well as control Greenland’s financial policy. This scenario makes Greenland still part of Denmark, and is therefore not officially recognized as an official country. It is considered a constituent country i.e. a country that is part of another, in this case Denmark being the other country.

The list of countries is constantly being influenced by the political happenings in the international realm, such as is the case with South Sudan and Palestine. Due to changing views and opinions, this list is not the only one out there, there are many others, but this shows the countries recognized by the United Nations.